
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

    
 

 

9. 	 Discussion and possible action regarding proposed rule changes to title 37 TAC, Chapter 437, Fees, including 
but not limited to, §437.13, Processing Fees for Test Application, and §437.15, International Fire Service 
Accreditation (IFSAC) Seal Fees. 



 

 

 
 

 

 
 

 
 

 

 
 

 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 

 

 
 

CHAPTER 437 

FEES 

§437.1. Purpose and Scope. 

(a) The purpose of this chapter is to set forth requirements governing the fees charged for the issuance of certificates 
to fire protection personnel, to establish the procedures for the collection of annual renewal fees and copying fees 
as prescribed by the Government Code, §419.025 and §419.026, and commission rule. 

(b) This chapter shall govern all proceedings before and dealing with the commission concerning certification fees, 
renewal fees, and copying fees. Hearings and appellate proceedings regarding these fees shall be governed by 
this chapter where applicable and by the rules of the practice and procedure of the commission and the 
Administrative Procedure Act and Texas Register Act, Chapter 2001, of the Texas Government Code. 

(c) If a fee submitted in the form of a check is returned for insufficient funds the certification, seal or test for which the 
fee was collected will be invalidated. 

§437.3. Certification Fees. 

(a) A non-refundable application fee of $85 is required for each certificate issued by the Commission. If a certificate is 
issued within the time provided in §401.125 of this title (relating to Processing Periods), the fee will be applied to 
the certification. If the certificate is denied, the applicant must pay a new certification application fee to file a new 
application.  

(b) The regulated employing entity shall be responsible for all certification fees required as a condition of 

appointment.  


(c) 	Nothing in this section shall prohibit an individual from paying a certification fee for any certificate which he or she 
is qualified to hold, providing the certificate is not required as a condition of appointment (see subsection (b) of 
this section concerning certification fees).  

(d) Any person who holds a certificate, and is no longer employed by an entity that is regulated by the Commission 
may submit in writing, a request, together with the required fee to receive a one-time certificate stating the level of 
certification in each discipline held by the person on the date that person left employment pursuant to the Texas 
Government Code, §419.033(b).  

Multiple certifications may be listed on the one-time certificate. The one-time fee for the one-time certificate shall 
be limited to the maximum amount allowed by §419.033(b) of the Texas Government Code.  

(e) A facility that provides basic level training for any discipline for which the Commission has established a Basic 
Curriculum must be certified by the Commission. The training facility will be charged a separate certification fee 
for each discipline. 

§437.5. Renewal Fees. 

(a) A 	non-refundable annual renewal fee of $85 shall be assessed for each certified individual and certified training 
facility. If an individual or certified training facility holds more than one certificate, the Commission may collect only 
one renewal fee of $85, which will renew all certificates held by the individual or certified training facility. 

(b) A regulated employing entity shall pay the renewal fee for all certificates which a person must possess as a 
condition of employment.  

(c) 	 If a person re-enters the fire service whose certificate(s) has been expired for less than one year, the regulated 
entity must pay all applicable renewal fee(s) and any applicable additional fee(s). Upon payment of the required 
fees, the certificates previously held by the individual, for which he or she continues to qualify, will be renewed. 



 
 

  

 
 

 
 

 
  

 
  

 
 

 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 

 
 

 
 

 
 

  

  
 

 
 

 

 

 
 

   
 
 

(d) If a person reapplies for a certificate(s) which has been expired less than one year and the individual is not 
employed by a regulated employing entity as defined in subsection (b) of this section, the individual must pay all 
applicable renewal fee(s) and any applicable additional fee(s). Upon payment of the required fee(s), the 
certificate(s) previously held by the individual, for whom he or she continues to qualify, will be renewed.  

(e) Nothing in this section shall prohibit an individual from paying a renewal fee for any certificate which he or she is 
qualified to hold providing the certificate is not required as a condition of employment.  

(f) 	 Certification renewal statements will be mailed to all regulated employing entities and individuals holding 
certification at least 60 days prior to October 31 of each calendar year. Certification renewal statements will be 
mailed to certified training facilities at least 60 days prior to February 1 of each calendar year.  

(g) All certification renewal fees must be returned with the renewal statement to the Commission. 

(h) All certification renewal fees must be paid on or before the renewal date posted on the certification renewal 
statement to avoid additional fee(s). 

(i) 	 The certification period shall be a period not to exceed one year. The certification period for employees of 
regulated employing entities, and individuals holding certification is November 1 to October 31. The certification 
period of certified training facilities is February 1 to January 31. 

(j) 	 All certification renewal fees received from one to 30 days after the renewal date posted on the renewal notice will 
cause the individual or entity responsible for payment to be assessed a non-refundable late fee of $42.50 in 
addition to the renewal fee for each individual for which a renewal fee was due. 

(k) 	All certification renewal fees received more than 30 days after the renewal date posted on the renewal notice will 
cause the individual or entity responsible for payment to be assessed a non-refundable late fee of $85 in addition 
to the renewal fee for each individual for which a renewal fee was due.  

(l) 	 In addition to any non-refundable late fee(s) assessed for certification renewal, the Commission may hold an 
informal conference to determine if any further action(s) is to be taken. 

(m) An individual or entity may petition the Commission for a waiver of the late fees required by this section if the 
person's certificate expired because of the individual or regulated employing entity's good faith clerical error, or 
expired as a result of termination of the person's employment where the person has been restored to employment 
through a disciplinary procedure or a court action. All required renewal fees including applicable late fees and all 
required continuing education must be submitted before the waiver request may be considered.  

(1) Applicants claiming good faith clerical error must submit a sworn statement together with any supporting 
documentation that evidences the applicant's good faith efforts to comply with Commission renewal 
requirements and that failure to comply was due to circumstances beyond the control of the applicant. 

(2) Applicants claiming restoration to employment as a result of a disciplinary or court action must submit a 
certified copy of the order restoring the applicant to employment.  

(n) An individual, upon returning from activation to military service, whose certification has expired, must notify the 
Commission in writing. The individual will have any normally associated late fees waived and will be required to 
pay a renewal fee of $85. 

§437.7. Standards Manual and Certification Curriculum Manual Fees. 

(a) Current versions of the Standards Manual for Fire Protection Personnel and Certification Curriculum Manual are 
available on the commission’s website. 

(b) The Commission does not provide printed copies of the manuals. A printed copy of the Commission’s standards 
may be obtained from Thomson West, 610 Opperman Drive, Eagan, MN 55123,  by requesting “Title 37, Public 
Safety and Corrections” of the Texas Administrative Code. The web address for Thomson West is 
www.west.thomson.com. 

http:www.west.thomson.com


 

 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
  

 
 

 

 
 

 
 

 

 
 

 
 

 
 

§437.11. Copying Fees. 

(a) All photographic reproduction of records or documents in the files of the commission and prepared on standard 
office machines will be furnished for a fee. 

(b) A fee will be charged for address and telephone number lists of fire service agencies. 

(c) A fee will be charged for mailing peel-off labels of fire service agencies. 

§437.13. Processing Fees for Test Application. 

(a) A non-refundable application processing fee of $85 shall be charged for each examination.  

(b) Fees will be paid in advance with the application or the provider of training may be invoiced or billed if previous 
arrangements have been made with the Commission. 

§437.15. International Fire Service Accreditation Congress (IFSAC) Seal Fees. 

A non-refundable $10.00 fee shall be charged for each IFSAC seal issued by the commission. 

§437.17. Records Review Fees. 

(a) A non-refundable fee of $35 shall be charged for each training records review conducted by the commission for 
the purpose of determining equivalency to the appropriate commission training program or to establish eligibility to 
test. Applicants submitting training records for review shall receive a written analysis from the commission. 

(b) The fee provided for in this section shall not apply to an individual who holds an advanced certificate from the 
State Firemen’s and Fire Marshals’ Association of Texas. 




