15. Matters referred from the Fire Fighter Advisory Committee (FFAC), including but not
limited to:

A. Discussion and possible final adoption on proposed amendments, new sections,
repeals, and rule reviews as follows:

4. Proposed amendments to title 37 TAC, Chapter 437, Fees, including but not
limited to, 8437.1, Purpose and Scope, 8437.3, Certification Fees, §437.5,
Renewal Fees, §437.7, Standards Manual and Certification Curriculum Manual
Fees, §437.11, Copying Fees, and 8§437.13, Processing Fees for Test
Application, 8437.15, International Fire Service Accreditation Congress (IFSAC)
Seal Fees, and 8437.17, Records Review Fees.
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CHAPTER 437
FEES
8437.1 Purpose and Scope.

(a) The purpose of this chapter is to set forth requirements governing the fees charged by the

commission [@Hhe%suaneeeﬁee#ﬂ%ates%&p#eteeﬂe&pe#s@m&%esﬁb%h%he
as prescribed by
Texas [the] Government Code Chagter 419, §419. 025 and §419 026, and commission
rule.

(b) This chapter shall govern all proceedings before and dealing with the commission
concerning [cettification-fees;renewalfees;and-copying] fees. Hearings and appellate
proceedings regarding these fees shall be governed by this chapter where applicable and
by the rules of the practice and procedure of the commission and the Administrative
Procedure Act and Texas Register Act, Chapter 2001, of the Texas Government Code.

(c) If a fee submitted in the form of a check is returned for insufficient funds the certification,
seal or test for which the fee was collected will be invalidated.

(d) Additional fees, such as those charged for exam administration or criminal
background checks, may be charged to applicants and regulated entities by service
providers other than the commission. The commission does not charge and will not
collect these additional fees. Payment of the additional fees shall be made via a
separately established agreement between the individual or requlated entity and the
applicable service provider.

8§437.3 Certification Application Processing Fees.

(a) A non-refundable application processing fee of $85 is required for each certificate issued
by the commission.[Commission.] If a certificate is issued within the time provided in
8401.125 of this title (relating to Processing Periods), the fee will be applied to the
certification. If the certificate is denied, the applicant must pay a new certification
application processing fee to file a new application.

(b) The regulated employing entity shall be responsible for all certification application
processing fees required as a condition of appointment.

(c) Nothing in this section shall prohibit an individual from paying a certification application
processing fee for any certificate which he or she is qualified to hold, providing the
certificate is not required as a condition of appointment (see subsection (b) of this section
concerning certification fees).

(d)[¢e)} A facility that provides [basiclevel] training for any discipline for which the commission
[Commission] has established a curriculum [Basie-Curriculum] must be certified by the
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commission [Cemmissien]. The training facility will be charged a separate certification
application processing fee for each discipline or level of discipline for which
application is made.

§437.5 Renewal Fees.

(a) A non-refundable annual renewal fee of $85 shall be assessed for each certified individual
and certified training facility. If an individual or certified training facility holds more than one
certificate, the commission [Cemmissien] may collect only one renewal fee of $85, which
will renew all certificates held by the individual or certified training facility.

(b) A regulated employing entity shall pay the renewal fee for each individual who is

required to possess certification[all-certificates-which-a-perseon-mustpoessess] as a

condition of employment]

(c) If a person re-enters the fire service whose certificate(s) has been expired for less than one
year, the regulated entity must pay all applicable renewal fee(s) and any applicable
additional fee(s). Upon payment of the required fees, the certificates previously held by the
individual, for which he or she continues to qualify, will be renewed.

(d) If a person wishes to renew [reappliesfor] a certificate(s) which has been expired less
than one year and the individual is not employed by a regulated employing entity as
defined in subsection (b) of this section, the individual must pay all applicable renewal
fee(s) and any applicable additional fee(s). Upon payment of the required fee(s), the
certificate(s) previously held by the individual, for whom he or she continues to qualify, will
be renewed.

(e) Nothing in this section shall prohibit an individual from paying a renewal fee for any
certificate which he or she is qualified to hold providing the certificate is not required as a
condition of employment.

(f) Certification renewal information will be sent to all regulated employing entities and
individuals holding certification at least 60 days prior to October 31 of each calendar year.
Certification renewal information will be sent to certified training facilities at least 60 days
prior to February 1 of each calendar year.

(9) If renewal payment is submitted by mail, all[All] certification renewal fees must be

submitted[returned] with the renewal invoice [statement] to the
commission[Cemmission].

(h) All certification renewal fees must be paid on or before the last day of the certification

period (see subsection (i) of this section) [renewal-date-posted-on-the-certification
renewal-statement] to avoid additional fee(s).

(i) The certification period shall be a period not to exceed one year. The certification period for
employees of regulated employing entities, and individuals holding certification is
November 1 to October 31. The certification period of certified training facilities is February
1 to January 31.

()) All certification renewal fees received from one to 30 days after the last day of the
certification period [renewal-date-posted-on-the-renewal-netice] will cause the individual

or entity responsible for payment to be assessed a non-refundable late fee of $42.50 in




addition to the renewal fee for each individual or training provider for which a renewal fee
was due.

(k) All certification renewal fees received more than 30 days after the last day of the
certification period [renewaldate-posted-on-the-renewal-netice] will cause the individual
or entity responsible for payment to be assessed a non-refundable late fee of $85 in
addition to the renewal fee for each individual or training provider for which a renewal fee
was due.

() In addition to any non-refundable late fee(s) assessed for certification renewal, the
commission [Cemmission] may hold an informal conference to determine if any further
action(s) is to be taken.

(m) An individual or entity may petition the commission [Cemmission] for a waiver of the late
fees required by this section if the person's certificate expired because of the individual or
regulated employing entity's good faith clerical error, or expired as a result of termination of
the person s employment where the person has been restored to employment through a

(1) Applicants claiming good faith clerical error must submit a sworn statement together
with any supporting documentation that evidences the applicant's good faith efforts to
comply with commission[Cemmission] renewal requirements and that failure to
comply was due to circumstances beyond the control of the applicant.

(2) Applicants claiming restoration to employment as a result of a disciplinary or court
action must submit a certified copy of the order restoring the applicant to employment.

(n) Anindividual, upon returning from activation to military service, whose certification has
expired, must notify the commission [Cemmissien] in writing. The individual will have any
normally associated late fees waived and will be required to pay a renewal fee of $85.

8437.7 Standards Manual and Certification Curriculum Manual Fees.

(a) Current versions of the Standards Manual for Fire Protection Personnel and Certification
Curriculum Manual are available on the commission's website.

(b) The commission [Cemmission]does not provide printed copies of the manuals. A printed
copy of the commission’s [Cemmission's|standards may be obtained from Thomson
West, 610 Opperman Drive, Eagan, MN 55123, by requesting "Title 37, Public Safety and
Corrections" of the Texas Administrative Code. The web address for Thomson West is
www.west.thomson.com.

8437.15 International Fire Service Accreditation Congress (IFSAC) Seal Fees.

A non-refundable $15 fee shall be charged for each IFSAC seal issued by the commission
[effective October1,2012].

8437.17 Records Review Fees.

(a) A non-refundable fee of $35 shall be charged for each training records review conducted by
the commission for the purpose of determining equivalency to the appropriate commission
training program or to establish eligibility to test. Applicants submitting training records for
review shall receive a written analysis from the commission.
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(b) The fee provided for in this section shall not apply to an individual who holds an advanced
or Fire Fighter |l certificate from the State Firemen's and Fire Marshals' Association of
Texas.
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