
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
11. Matters referred from the Fire Fighter Advisory Committee (FFAC), including but 

not limited to: 
 

C. Discussion and possible action on fees charged by the agency. 
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CHAPTER 437 
 

FEES 
 

§437.1 Purpose and Scope. 
 
(a) The purpose of this chapter is to set forth requirements governing the fees charged by the 

commission as prescribed by Texas Government Code, Chapter 419, §419.025 and §419.026, 
and commission rule.  

 
(b) This chapter shall govern all proceedings before and dealing with the commission concerning 

fees. Hearings and appellate proceedings regarding these fees shall be governed by this 
chapter where applicable and by the rules of the practice and procedure of the commission 
and the Administrative Procedure Act and Texas Register Act, Chapter 2001, of the Texas 
Government Code.  

 
(c) If a fee submitted in the form of a check is returned for insufficient funds the certification, seal 

or test for which the fee was collected will be invalidated. 
 
(d) Additional fees, such as those charged for exam administration or criminal background 

checks, may be charged to applicants and regulated entities by service providers other than 
the commission.  The commission does not charge and will not collect these additional fees.  
Payment of the additional fees shall be made via a separately established agreement 
between the individual or regulated entity and the applicable service providers.  

 
§437.3 Certification Application Processing Fees. 

(a) A non-refundable application processing fee of $85 is required for each certificate issued by 
the commission. If a certificate is issued within the time provided in §401.125 of this title 
(relating to Processing Periods), the fee will be applied to the certification. If the certificate is 
denied, the applicant must pay a new certification application processing fee to file a new 
application.  

 
(b) The regulated employing entity shall be responsible for all certification application 

processing fees required as a condition of appointment.  
 
(c) Nothing in this section shall prohibit an individual from paying a certification application 

processing fee for any certificate which he or she is qualified to hold, providing the 
certificate is not required as a condition of appointment (see subsection (b) of this section 
concerning certification fees).  

 
(d) A facility that provides training for any discipline for which the commission has established a 

curriculum must be certified by the commission. The training facility will be charged a 
separate certification application processing fee for each discipline or level of discipline for 
which application is made.  

 
§437.5 Renewal Fees. 
 
(a) A non-refundable annual renewal fee of $85 shall be assessed for each certified individual 

and certified training facility. If an individual or certified training facility holds more than 
one certificate, the commission may collect only one renewal fee of $85, which will renew all 
certificates held by the individual or certified training facility. 

 
(b) A regulated employing entity shall pay the renewal fee for each individual who is required to 

possess certification as a condition of employment.  
 
(c) If a person re-enters the fire service whose certificate(s) has been expired for less than one 

year, the regulated entity must pay all applicable renewal fee(s) and any applicable 
additional fee(s). Upon payment of the required fees, the certificates previously held by the 
individual, for which he or she continues to qualify, will be renewed.  
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(d) If a person wishes to renew a certificate(s) which has been expired less than one year and the 
individual is not employed by a regulated employing entity as defined in subsection (b) of 
this section, the individual must pay all applicable renewal fee(s) and any applicable 
additional fee(s). Upon payment of the required fee(s), the certificate(s) previously held by 
the individual, for whom he or she continues to qualify, will be renewed.  

 
(e) Nothing in this section shall prohibit an individual from paying a renewal fee for any 

certificate which he or she is qualified to hold providing the certificate is not required as a 
condition of employment.  

 
(f) Certification renewal information will be sent to all regulated employing entities and 

individuals holding certification at least 60 days prior to October 31 of each calendar year. 
Certification renewal information will be sent to certified training facilities at least 60 days 
prior to February 1 of each calendar year.  

 
(g) If renewal payment is submitted by mail, all certification renewal fees must be submitted 

with the renewal invoice to the commission.  
 
(h) All certification renewal fees must be paid on or before the last day of the certification period 

(see subsection (i) of this section) to avoid additional fee(s).  
 
(i) The certification period shall be a period not to exceed one year. The certification period for 

employees of regulated employing entities, and individuals holding certification is November 
1 to October 31. The certification period of certified training facilities is February 1 to 
January 31.  

 
(j) All certification renewal fees received from one to 30 days after the last day of the 

certification period will cause the individual or entity responsible for payment to be 
assessed a non-refundable late fee of $42.50 in addition to the renewal fee for each 
individual or training provider for which a renewal fee was due.  

 
(k) All certification renewal fees received more than 30 days after the last day of the certification 

period will cause the individual or entity responsible for payment to be assessed a non-
refundable late fee of $85 in addition to the renewal fee for each individual or training 
provider for which a renewal fee was due.  

 
(l) In addition to any non-refundable late fee(s) assessed for certification renewal, the 

commission may hold an informal conference to determine if any further action(s) is to be 
taken.  

 
(m) An individual or entity may petition the commission for a waiver of the late fees required by 

this section if the person's certificate expired because of the individual or regulated 
employing entity's good faith clerical error, or expired as a result of termination of the 
person's employment where the person has been restored to employment through a 
disciplinary procedure or a court action.  

  
 (1) Applicants claiming good faith clerical error must submit a sworn statement 
together with any supporting documentation that evidences the applicant's good faith efforts 
to comply with commission renewal requirements and that failure to comply was due to 
circumstances beyond the control of the applicant.  

  
 (2) Applicants claiming restoration to employment as a result of a disciplinary or court 
action must submit a certified copy of the order restoring the applicant to employment.  

 
(n) An individual, upon returning from activation to military service, whose certification has 

expired, must notify the commission in writing. The individual will have any normally 
associated late fees waived and will be required to pay a renewal fee of $85.  

 
§437.7 Standards Manual and Certification Curriculum Manual Fees. 
 
(a) Current versions of the Standards Manual for Fire Protection Personnel and Certification 

Curriculum Manual are available on the commission's website.  
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(b) The commission does not provide printed copies of the manuals. A printed copy of the 

commission's standards may be obtained from Thomson West, 610 Opperman Drive, Eagan, 
MN 55123, by requesting "Title 37, Public Safety and Corrections" of the Texas 
Administrative Code. The web address for Thomson West is www.west.thomson.com.  

 
§437.11 Copying Fees. 
 
(a) All photographic reproduction of records or documents in the files of the commission and 

prepared on standard office machines will be furnished for a fee.  
 
(b) A fee will be charged for address and telephone number lists of fire service agencies.  
 
(c) A fee will be charged for mailing peel-off labels of fire service agencies.  
 
§437.13 Processing Fees for Test Application. 
 
(a) A non-refundable application processing fee of $85 shall be charged for each examination.  
 
(b) Fees will be paid in advance with the application or the certified training provider may be 

invoiced or billed if previous arrangements have been approved by the commission in 
writing via mail, e-mail or fax.  

 
 (1) Any payment postmarked from 61 to 90 days after the invoice date will cause the 
provider of training to be assessed a non-refundable late fee of one half the amount shown 
on the invoice. This late fee is in addition to the amount shown on the invoice for test 
application processing fees.  

 
 (2) Any payment postmarked more than 90 days after the invoice date will cause the 
provider of training to be assessed a non-refundable late fee in an amount equal to the 
amount shown on the invoice. This late fee is in addition to the amount shown on the invoice 
for test application processing fees.  

 
§437.15 International Fire Service Accreditation Congress (IFSAC) Seal Fees. 

A non-refundable $15 fee shall be charged for each IFSAC seal issued by the commission.  

§437.17 Records Review Fees. 
 
(a) A non-refundable fee of $35 shall be charged for each training records review conducted by 

the commission for the purpose of determining equivalency to the appropriate commission 
training program or to establish eligibility to test. Applicants submitting training records for 
review shall receive a written analysis from the commission. 

 
(b) The fee provided for in this section shall not apply to an individual who holds an advanced or 

Fire Fighter II certificate from the State Firemen's and Fire Marshals' Association of Texas.  
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