TEXAS COMMISSION ON FIRE PROTECTION

Presiding Officer, Robert Moore, at 9:00 a.m. called the January 23, 2020 meeting of the Texas Commission on Fire Protection to order at 1701 N. Congress Avenue, Room 1-104, Austin, Texas.

Att		Tommy Mike Jo Steve T		Carlos Cortez Robert Moore Kelly Vandygriff*	Sue De Villez Bob Morgan Rusty Wilson	Kelly Doster Mala Sharma	Paul Hamilton J. P. Steelman	
		beeve i	un	nong vanaggini			t entire meeting <u>nt part of meeting</u>	
Sta		Paul Maldonado Rosalind Hunt, Assista		Deborah Cowan Servando Sanchez ant Attorney General				
Gu		Mike W Doug Bo Jason B David L Daniel I Ben Bla Jeff Ben	oeker lackman owe DeYear nton	Charles Olsen, Sr. Brett Ellis Leonard Chan Steve Keller Brandon Blythe Daniel Baum Aaron Smith	John Overstreet Thomas McMonigl Shaun Fogerson Joe Condina Glenn DeShields Bobby Copeland Brian Canady	Lee Atchison e Elaine Maddox Bill Pearson Kyle McAfee Dan Kramer Eric Hicks Marty Langton	Jason Collier Steve Maddox Darrell Rutledge Mario Troncoso Stuart Blasingame Anthony Bates Manuel Casarez	
1.	Invocation And Pledge o Allegiance	Pledge of Assistant Presiding Officer, J. P. Steelman.				as given by		
2.	Roll call		Secretary, Steve Tull called the roll and a quorum was present. A motion to excuse Commissioner Kelly Vandygriff due to medical issues was made by J. P. Steelman and seconded by Mike Jones. The motion carried.					
3.	Public Comm	nent	None					
4.	 Introduction of new Executive Director 		Presiding Officer, Robert Moore introduced the newly selected Executive Director, Mike Wisko.					
5.	Adoption of Minutes		A motion to approve the minutes of the October 24, 2019 commission meeting was made by Kelly Doster and seconded by Mike Jones. The motion carried.					
6.	. Report from the Budget and Strategic Plan Subcommittee		Nothing to report.					
7.	 Appointment of new member to the Budget and Strategic Plan Subcommittee 		Commissioner, Bob Morgan was appointed to the committee.					

8.	Reports from Interest Groups	A brief report was given by the Texas Fire Chief's Association, Texas State Association of Fire Fighters, State Firemen and Fire Marshals' Association, Texas Association of Fire Educators and the Center for Public Safety Excellence.
9.	Report from Tx. Fire School Advisory Board & TEEX	Commission Representative Juan Gloria was unable to attend. Presiding Officer, Robert Moore gave a brief update on activities to date.
10.	Appointment of Homeland Security Representative	Commissioner, Kelly Vandygriff was appointed as the new agency representative to the Homeland Security Council.
11.	Report from Health and Wellness Ad Hoc Committee	Commissioner Sharma, committee Chair introduced Dr. Brett Ellis, who gave a presentation of the activities of the committee with recommendations from the committee.
12.	Subjects for future commission meeting agendas	Post application on website for individuals interested in serving on the fire fighter advisory committee; Fee Schedule
13.	Future meeting dates	The commission had previously set its meeting dates for 2020. The next meeting will be held on April 23, 2020 beginning at 10:00 a.m.
14.	Matters from Fire Fighter Advisory Committee	Possible final adoption of proposed amendments to 37 Tex. Administrative Code, Part 13, Chapter 427, Training Facility Certification. After discussion, a motion was made by Kelly Doster and seconded by Mike Jones to table the issue for further review by the Curriculum and Testing Committee. The motion carried.
15.	Continuing Education	A motion was made by Steve Tull and seconded by Paul Hamilton to approve the list of classes/courses to the B List as discussed. The motion carried.
16.	NFPA 1851	Jim Reidy gave a presentation on the changes and updates to the standard that was effective August 2019. No action necessary.
17.	Matters from Executive Director	a. Paul Maldonado, Acting Executive Director informed the commissioners the agency had no contested cases or consent orders to report.b. Mr. Maldonado provided commissioners information regarding agency division functions.
18.	Personnel Matters	Presiding Officer, Robert Moore did not call for an Executive Session.

19. Public Nothing presented Comment

20. Adjournment A motion to adjourn was made by J. P. Steelman and seconded by Kelly Doster. The motion carried.

Robert Moore, Presiding Officer