TEXAS COMMISSION ON FIRE PROTECTION

Presiding Officer, J. P. Steelman, at 10:00 a.m., called the April 20, 2023, meeting of the Texas Commission on Fire Protection to order at 1701 N. Congress Avenue, Room 1-104, Austin, Texas.

Att	N	Chris Cantu* Mike Jones J. P. Steelman		David Coatney Clyde Loll* Kelly Vandygriff*	Sue DeVillez Bob Morgan Rusty Wilson	Michael Glynn Mala Sharma	Paul Hamilton Tim Smith	
						*Excuse	ed absence	
Sta	A	Cliff Grant Amanda Khan Robert Reese		Holden Wenger Candace Barnett Grace Wilson	Sami Lepisto Rick Wallace Ashley Barnett Joyce Guinn Rosalind Hunt, Assistant Attorney General			
Gu	ests	See	Guest List	attached.				
1.	Invocation and Pledge of Allegiance		The invocation was given by Commissioner Rusty Wilson and the Pledge of Allegiance was lead by Presiding Officer, J. P. Steelman.					
2.	Roll call and called, and a quorum was present. excuse of Commissioner absences							
3.	Adoption of Minutes		A motion was made by Mike Jones and seconded by Rusty Wilson to approve the minutes of the January 26, 2023, commission meeting. The motion carried.					
4.	Report from Budget and Strategic Plan Subcommittee		action nec	essary.				
5.	Reports from Interest Group	ps Assorted	A brief report was given by TEEX, the Texas Fire Chief's Association, the Texas Fire Marshal's Association, Texas A&M Forest Service, the State Firefighters' and Fire Marshals' Association of Texas, the National Fire Protection Association, the Texas State Association of Fire and Emergency Districts, the Center for Public Safety Excellence, the Fire Marshal's Office, and the Texas Association of Fire Educators.					
6.	Report from Homeland Sec Council		No report given.					
7.	Report from Chairman, Health & Wellness		irman, Ma	Mala Sharma gave a brief report.				

8.	Subjects for future meeting agendas	439, matrix correction.
9.	Future meeting Dates	The Commission announced the August 9, 2023, workshop at 2:00 pm and the August 10, 2023, Commission Meeting at 10:00 am.
10.	Matters from Curriculum and Testing Committee	A motion was made by Mike Jones and seconded by Paul Hamilton to adopt proposed changes to Investigator Curriculum Manual. The motion carried.
11.	Matters from Curriculum and Testing Committee	A motion was made by Paul Hamilton and seconded by Rusty Wilson to adopt proposed changes to 37 Texas Administrative Code (TAC), Chapter 443, Certification Curriculum Manual. The motion carried.
12.	Matters from Fire Fighter Advisory Committee	A) A motion was made by Paul Hamilton and seconded by Rusty Wilson to approve the rule review without changes to 37 TAC, Chapter 459, Fire and Safety Educator. The motion carried.
	Committee	B) A motion was made by David Coatney and seconded by Tim Smith to approve the rule review of 37 TAC, Chapter 461, Incident Commander, with suggested changes. The motion carried.
		C) A motion was made by Rusty Wilson and seconded by Mala Sharma to approve the rule review of 37 TAC, Chapter 491, Voluntary Regulation of State Agencies and State Agency Employees, without changes. The motion carried.
		D) A motion was made by Paul Hamilton and seconded by David Coatney to approve the rule review of 37 TAC, Chapter 493, Voluntary Regulation of Federal Agencies and State and Federal Fire Fighters, without changes. The motion carried.
13.	463 Advisory Committee	A motion was made by Mike Jones and seconded by Bob Morgan to accept proposed amendments to new 37 TAC, Chapter 463, Advisory Committees. The motion carried.
14.	Vacancy on The Fire Fighter Advisory Committee	Chairman Steelman appointed a committee to serve as guidance to filling the vacancy. Rusty Wilson was appointed as Committee Chair. Mike Jones and Tim Smith will serve on the committee.
15.	403 Advisory Committee	No action was taken on 37 TAC, Chapter 403, Criminal Convictions and Eligibility for Certification.
16.	Fire Fighter Injury Report	Grace Wilson gave an update on the 2022 data collected regarding the fire fighter injuries and the recommendations to be submitted to the State Fire Marshal's Office.

B. Mr. Wisko reported that there were no contested cases.C. Mr. Wisko reported the status of division functions.			
No executive session was called.			
A motion to adjourn was made by Michael Glynn and seconded by Bob Morgan. The motion carried.			
J. P. Steelman, Presiding Officer			