TEXAS COMMISSION ON FIRE PROTECTION MEETING

 $Presiding\ Officer, J.\ P.\ Steelman, called\ the\ Feburary\ 29,2024\ meeting\ of\ the\ Texas\ Commission\ on\ Fire\ Protection\ to\ order\ at\ 9:00\ a.m.\ at\ 4800\ N\ Lamar\ Blvd,\ Room\ 140,\ Austin,\ Texas.$

Fire Protection to order at 9:00 a.m. at 4800 N Lamar Blvd, Room 140, Austin, Texas.					
Attending:	Chris Cantu Bob Morgan Mike Jones	David Coatney Tim Smith Rusty Wilson	Kelly Vandygriff Amanda Friedeck Michael Johnson	Michael Glynn J. P. Steelman	Paul Hamilton Sue DeVillez
Staff:	Mike Wisko Ashley Barnett	Holden Wenger Cliff Grant	Sami Lepisto Grace Wilson	Joyce Guinn Robert Reese	Frank King
1. Invocation and Pledge of Allegiance.	The invocation was given by Commissioner Rusty Wilson and the Pledge of Allegiance was led by Presiding Officer J. P. Steelman.				
2. Roll call and excusing of Commissioner absences.	The roll was called, and a quorum was present. No Commissioners were absent.				
3. Adoption of Minutes.	A motion was made by Michael Glynn and seconded by Rusty Wilson to approve the Minutes of the October 26, 2023 Commission meeting. The motion carried.				
4. Report from Budget and Strategic Plan Subcommittee.	Development of Budget & Strategic Plan Ad Hoc committee members are listed as follows: Bob Morgan, Michael Glynn, Chris Cantu, Paul Hamilton & Michael Johnson. They have requested a remote Zoom meeting during the week of April 8. Staff will coordinate on a date.				
	Reports were given by TEEX, the Texas Fire Chiefs Association, the State Fire Fighters and Fire Marshals' Association of Texas, the Texas Association of Fire Educators, Texas A&M Forest Service, the Texas State Association of Fire and Emergency Districts, the State Fire Marshal's Office, and the National Fallen Fire Fighters Foundation.				
6. Report from Homeland Security Council.	No report was given.				
7. Report from Curriculum and Testing Committee.	No report was given.				
8. Subjects for future meeting agendas.	Commissioner Tim Smith requested an agenda item to discuss reciprocity with SFFMA certifications for the next meeting in May. A report from the Firefighter Cancer Support Network will be added to the list of reporting groups for the May meeting.				
9. Future meeting dates.	The Commission announced the next Commission meeting on May 16, 2024 at $10:00$ a.m.; a Commission workshop on August 14, 2024 at $1:30$ p.m.; and Commission meetings on August 15, 2024 at $9:00$ a.m. and on November 21, 2024 at $10:00$ a.m.				
10. Discussion and possible action on 37 Texas Administrative Code Chapter 467 - Fire Marshal.	A motion was made by Mike Jones and seconded by Rusty Wilson to table the current submission for Chapter 467- Fire Marshal. The motion carried.				
11.Discussion and possible action on TDEM presentation at the Commission Workshop on February 28, 2024.	A motion was made by Mike Jones to accept the TDEM proposal and send it to the C&T Committee for further review and seconded by Paul Hamilton. The motion carried.				
12. Discussion and possible action on filling current vacancies on Committees.	A motion was made by Paul Hamilton and seconded by David Coatney to approve Internal Policy #IP 004 regarding establishing a method for selection and appointment of members to fill position vacancies on standing committees. The motion carried. JP. Steelman appointed Ad Hoc committee of David Coatney, Rusty Wilson, Michael Glynn, Michael Johnson & Tim Smith to work on the Health & Wellness standing committee member candidates before the May meeting.				
13. Matters from the Agency Chief.	A. Agency Chief, Mike Wisko, gave an update on agency duties and responsibilities. B. Chief Wisko reported that there were no contested cases. C. Chief Wisko reported the status of division functions.				
14. Personal matters regarding the appointment, employment, compensation, evaluation, reassignment, and duties of the Agency Chief.	No matters discussed.				
15. Adjourn Meeting	The motion was made by Rusty Wilson and seconded by Chris Cantu to adjourn the meeting. The motion carried.				

J.P. Steelman, Presiding Officer