TEXAS COMMISSION ON FIRE PROTECTION

Presiding Officer Mike Wisko called the September 20, 2018 meeting of the Fire Fighter Advisory Committee to order at 10:00 a.m. at the William B. Travis Building, 1701 N. Congress Ave., Room 1-104, in Austin, Texas.

Member Attendance		Jim Reidy* Jason Colli	Michael Wisko er Daniel DeYear	Amado Cano, Jr. Daniel Buford		Keith Schmidt* on bsent entire meeting absent part of meeting
Staff Sylvia Mi		Sylvia Miller	ller Deborah Cowan Andrew Lutostanski, Assistant Attorney General			
1.	. Roll call		Assistant Presiding Officer Daniel DeYear called roll and a quorum was present.			
2.	Adoption of Minutes		A motion was made by Jason Collier and seconded by Ken Swindle to approve the minutes of the June 21, 2018, fire fighter advisory committee meeting as discussed. The motion carried.			
3.	37 TAC, Chapter 449		A motion was made by Amado Cano Jr., and seconded by Daniel DeYear to approve the amendments to 37 TAC, Chapter 449, Head of a Fire Department, §§449.1, 449.3, 449.201 and 449.203 as proposed by the commission. The motion carried.			
4.	. 37 TAC, Chapter 455		A motion was made by Daniel Buford and seconded by Jason Collier to approve the amendments to 37 TAC, Chapter 455, Minimum Standards for Wildland Fire Protection Certification as recommended by the commission. The motion carried.			
5.	. Injury Reporting Program		After discussion, no action necessary. Committee member Daniel Buford reiterated the reporting of cancer instances through the program for a more accurate number of cases across the state. He also reiterated the importance of the fire protection personnel on filing workers compensation claims.			
6.	6. Inspector Certification		No action necessary. Presiding Officer Mike Wisko informed members that the ad hoc subcommittee had met and the commission will be discussing this issue at its October $25^{\rm th}$ commission meeting.			
7.	. Future meeting dates and agenda items		The next scheduled meeting date was previously set by the committee for December 13, 2018 beginning at 10:00 a.m. Presiding Officer Mike Wisko moved the start time to 9:00 a.m. in lieu of the 10:00 a.m. start time previously scheduled.			
8.	8. Adjournment		A motion to adjourn was made by Amado Cano Jr. and seconded by Daniel DeYear. The motion carried.			
					Mike Wisk Presiding (