TEXAS COMMISSION ON FIRE PROTECTION HEALTH AND WELLNESS COMMITTEE MEETING

Presiding officer Doug Boeker called the October 1, 2024, meeting of the Texas Commission on Fire Protection (TCFP) Health and Wellness Committee to order at 10:00 a.m. at the North Lamar Boulevard Building, 4800 N. Lamar Boulevard, Room 140, in Austin, Texas.

Member Attendance: Doug Boeker Steve Green Del Albright	Ashley Watson Brian O'Neill Chris Kahl	Michael Mire Daniel DeYear	Homar Salinas* Adam Story
*Absent			
Staff present: Frank King Bobbie Stebbins	Amanda Khan	Mike Wisko	Holden Wenger

1. Call to order – Presiding Officer, Doug Boeker called the meeting to order at 10:00 a.m.

2. Roll Call – Presiding Officer, Doug Boeker called roll, and a quorum was present.

3. Election of Committee officers -

A motion was made by Daniel DeYear and seconded by Chris Kahl to nominate Doug Boeker for Committee Chair. No other nominations were made. The motion carried.

Adam Story made a motion to nominate Daniel DeYear as Committee Vice Chair. Ashley Watson made a second nomination to nominate Michael Mire. A vote was called by Doug Boeker, and Daniel DeYear was elected as Vice Chair.

Ashley Watson made a motion to nominate Michael Mire as Committee Secretary. A second nomination was made by Michael Mire to nominate Ashley Watson. A vote was called by Doug Boeker and Michael Mire was elected as Secretary.

4. Overview of the TCFP rules and policies related to the Committee and history of the Committee – Agency Chief, Mike Wisko gave a brief overview of the Texas Administrative Code Chapter 463, Advisory Committees, Practices and Procedures, and a brief history of the Committee. Doug Boeker also gave a brief history of his experience on the Committee. 5. Discussion of the TCFP Injury Report – The Committee discussed the Injury Report, referring cancer and suicide reports in the Injury Report to the Commission.

6. Subjects for future meeting agendas – There were no subjects suggested. Any subject submissions should be made by December 23, 2024, for the next meeting.

7. Discussion for future meeting dates – It was determined that the next meeting will be January 16, 2025, at 10:00 a.m. It was also discussed that the Committee will hold meetings in the months of January, April, July, and October of each year.

8. Adjourn Meeting – A motion was made by Steve Green and seconded by Adam Story to adjourn the meeting. The motion carried.



Doug Boeker Presiding Officer