
 
Fire Eligibility Requirements 
SOMERVELL COUNTY FIREFIGHTER/PARAMEDIC 

QUALIFICATIONS:  As prescribed by Chapter 143 Local Government Code 

FIREFIGHTER EXAM AND PHYSICAL AGILITY TEST: Applicants will be contacted directly to 

schedule testing. 

o Must be a citizen of the United States and be able to read, write and fluently speak English. 

o Age 18 or above. 

o Possess a valid Texas Class B driver’s license, or be able to obtain one within ninety (90) 

days of employment, that is not in jeopardy of suspension or revocation. 

o Preferably possess certification as a basic Firefighter, or be able to become certifiable at time 

of appointment, as established by the Texas Commission on Fire Protection. At or before the 

time of entrance exam, applicant shall provide either (1) evidence of certification issued by 

the Texas Commission on Fire Protection, or (2) evidence of current enrollment in a basic 

recruit fire training academy approved by the Texas Commission of Fire Protection. 

o Must possess certification as a (1) Paramedic (more preferable) or (2) an EMT-B by the 

Texas Department of State Health Services at time of appointment. At or before the time of 

entrance exam, applicant shall provide either (1) a Paramedic or (2) EMT Certificate issued 

by the Texas Department of State Health Services.  

o Must be a graduate of an accredited high school or have an equivalency certificate. 

o Official transcripts or other competent evidence of completion of the aforementioned 

academic requirements must be submitted with application. 

o Applicants convicted of a felony under State, Federal, or Military Law will not be considered 

for employment. Applicants will not be considered while charges are pending for any offense. 

o Candidates must complete a written exam, physical agility test, and oral review board. 

o Candidates will be subject to a driver analysis; background investigation; medical exam; drug 

testing; and any other relevant investigations deemed necessary. 

Annual salary for applicants, including FLSA overtime and holiday pay: 

Firefighter/Paramedic certifications starts at $57,293. 

Firefighter/EMT Basic certifications starts at $50,293. 

Paramedic only certification starts at $51,660. 

EMT only certification starts at $44,772. 

*Lateral pay available depending on experience.* 

BENEFITS: 

TCDRS Retirement Plan- 7% 2.35:1 county match. 

100% county paid health insurance. 

Life/Dental/Vision Insurance available. 

Paid vacation, sick time, and holidays. 

APPLICATIONS:  Applications for full time and part time may be obtained at 

Somervell County Fire Department, 111 Shepard St, Glen Rose, TX, or from the 

county website. Submit applications to Somervell County Fire Department, or by 

email to maci.sowders@co.somervell.tx.us  Call (254) 897-2135 with any questions. 
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