Skip to main content

The Texas Commission on Fire Protection will be closed this Friday, April 19th. The office will resume normal operations at 8:00am on Monday, April 22nd.
Our online services won't be affected by this.

Have a safe holiday!

Certification requirements

The Texas Commission on Fire Protection offers 41 state certifications or certification levels. Click the links below to view the requirements for each. (See below the chart for additional notes.)

Structure Fire Protection Basic Intermediate Advanced Master
Aircraft Rescue Fire Protection Basic Intermediate Advanced Master
Marine Fire Protection Basic Intermediate Advanced Master
Fire Inspector Basic Intermediate Advanced Master
Arson Investigator Basic Intermediate Advanced Master
Fire Investigator Basic Intermediate Advanced Master
Fire Service Instructor Level I Level II Level III Level III-Master
Fire Officer Fire Officer I Fire Officer II Fire Officer III Fire Officer IV
Hazardous Materials Technician Incident Commander
Driver/Operator Pumper Aerial
Fire Department Safety Officer Incident Safety Officer
Wildland Fire Protection Basic Intermediate
Head of Department Suppression Prevention

Certifications outlined in red above are required if your employer appoints you to the associated discipline. All other commission certifications and levels are voluntary, "professional development" certifications.

Many departments throughout the state encourage their employees to pursue the commission's optional and higher-level certifications. Some departments have internal policies requiring their employees to earn the additional certifications. (For example, some departments require the Driver/Operator-Pumper certification for their drivers; others may require their employees to earn the Fire Officer certification for a department officer position.) Check with your chain of command or training officer to see if your department offers incentives for additional certifications.


* A "commission-approved" training program is an in-state program that is approved to teach the curriculum outlined in the commission's Certification Curriculum Manual, or an equivalent out-of-state program. (The commission will have to evaluate out-of-state programs to determine whether they meet commission standards. For the commission to determine if your out-of-state training meets Texas standards, you will have to submit a TCFP-045 Records Review Request form with the required fee.)

** TEEX ProBoard certificates must show the commission's course approval (or TPA - training prior approval) number. The certificates must also indicate whether any special accommodations were provided and whether the exam was given in a language other than English.

For higher level certifications, please see our certification FAQs - higher levels to see how the commission calculates "years of experience."

Certification and professional development

Certification and professional development

A brief introduction to the commission's certification and professional development program.

Certification requirements

The commission offers 40 certifications or certification "levels" (i.e., basic, intermediate, advanced, etc.). This chart provides links to the requirements for each certification and each level.

Certification verification

A form to verify a certified individual's certification status.

Basic fire suppression

Overview of the requirements to become certified as an entry-level fire fighter in the State of Texas.

CE - required hours

How to determine how many hours of continuing education are required to renew.

Individual renewals

Information and FAQs for individual certificate holders. (Individual certificate holders are those who are not affiliated with a regulated department.)

Transferring to Texas

Guidelines for transferring out-of-state or military fire protection certifications to Texas.

A-list and B-list courses

A-list and B-list courses for higher levels of certification.

CE sources

Sources of continuing education.

Courage to Be Safe resources

Resources and links to more information about the Courage to Be Safe program.

Traffic safety course resources

Resources and links to more information about the required traffic safety program.