Announcement Archives

Please note that some of the links in this archive page may no longer work. Links to items such as expired committee membership application forms, or e-mail links to employees no longer with the agency, etc., have been marked with a dotted underline.


The Texas Commission on Fire Protection is putting final touches on a new FIDO system, with plans to launch in early January 2018.

FIDO will have a whole new look, with greatly expanded capabilities for the user. The system will allow the individual or department administrator to manage online transactions.

The commission is currently accepting applications to fill one vacancy on the Fire Fighter Advisory Committee. The Fire Fighter Advisory Committee plays the critical and statutorily mandated role of reviewing and commenting on all rule changes being considered by the commissioners.

If you are interested in serving on the Fire Fighter Advisory Committee, please complete the application and:

  • Attach it to an email and send to
  • -or-
  • Fax it to Deborah Cowan at (512) 936-3814
  • -or-
  • Print and mail it to: Texas Commission on Fire Protection PO Box 2286 Austin, TX 78768-2286 ATTENTION: Deborah Cowan

The deadline for applications is the close of business on December 31, 2017.

Governor Greg Abbott has reappointed Mike Jones and appointed Bob D. Morgan, Mala Sharma, and J.P. Steelman to the Texas Commission on Fire Protection for terms set to expire on February 1, 2023. The commission develops and enforces statewide fire service standards and provides education and assistance to the industry.

Mike Jones of Burleson is a battalion chief and training officer of the City of Burleson Fire Department and an adjunct instructor with Tarrant County College and Southwest Adventist University. He is president of the Burleson Professional Firefighters Association and a member of the Texas State Association Firefighters, International Association of Firefighters, and the Knights of Columbus. Jones attended Tarrant County College and received his fire protection certification form the Kilgore College Fire Academy.

Bob D. Morgan of Fort Worth is the senior fire protection engineer with the Fort Worth Fire Department. He is a member of the International Building Code Fire Safety Committee, six different technical committees with the National Fire Protection Association, and the North Central Texas Council of Governments and is chairman of its Fire Advisory Board. Additionally, he is a member and past president of the Fire Prevention Association of North Texas and DFW chapter of Society of Fire Protection Engineers. Morgan received a Bachelor of Science in Mechanical Engineering from Texas A&M University.

Mala Sharma of Houston is an attorney with Sharma & Associates, P.C. She is president emeritus of the Houston Northwest Bar Association, board member of the South Asian Bar Association, and chair of the Houston Trial Lawyer's Women's Caucus Events Committee and the Houston Young Lawyer's Association Solo/Small Firm Committee. She is also a member of the Houston Bar Association and State Bar of Texas. Additionally, she volunteers for the Veterans Legal Clinic with the Houston Bar Association and has served as a Guardian Ad Litem. Sharma received a Bachelor of Business Administration from the University of Houston and a Juris Doctor from Southern Methodist University Dedman School of Law.

J.P. Steelman of Longview is the fire chief of the City of Longview and an instructor at Kilgore College Fire Academy. He serves as regional director for the Northeast Region of the Texas Fire Chiefs Association and is a member of the International Association of Fire Chiefs, Texas Task Force-1, Texas Interstate Fire Mutual Aid System, Texas Emergency Management Assistance Team, and the East Texas Council of Government Homeland Security Advisory Committee. Additionally, he is board member of See Saw Children's Place Daycare, past president of the Longview (Greggton) Rotary Club, and a panel member of the Sabine Industrial District Citizen's Advisory Panel. Steelman received an Associate of Applied Science in the area of fire protection technology and his fire protection certification from Kilgore College Fire Academy. He also completed the Executive Fire Officer Program with the National Fire Academy, Texas Fire Chiefs Academy through the Texas Fire Chiefs Association, and the Texas Fire Service Chief Executive Officer Program through the Texas A&M Engineering Extension Service.

Department renewal reminder

The commission recently e-mailed notifications to all regulated entities regarding the renewal of their certified personnel. All certified personnel must have their certifications renewed by Oct. 31, 2017 to avoid late fees and to stay in compliance with commission rules. FIDO account administrators can log into their department FIDO (dFIDO) account to reconcile and renew their certified personnel.

Notice to individual certificate holders

The commission recently e-mailed notifications to certificate holders regarding the annual renewal of certifications, which expire Oct. 31, 2017. If you are an individual certificate holder, please check your personal iFIDO account to review your current certification status. (If you are employed by or associated with a commission-regulated entity, your department is responsible for renewing your certifications.)

For more information on continuing education requirements and renewing as an individual certificate holder, please refer to the commission's individual renewals page.

If your certificate expired on Oct. 31, 2016, your final deadline to renew is Oct. 31, 2017. If you do not renew by Oct. 31, 2017, you will have to retake the commission exam to qualify and reapply for your certifications.

The Texas Commission on Fire Protection is now accepting applications for the newly approved Driver/Operator-Aerial Apparatus certification. Please review ยง for more information on how to qualify for the certification.

The Texas Commission on Fire Protection is seeking applications for the curriculum and testing committee. There is one vacancy on the committee.

The committee meets, on average, four times a year at commission headquarters in Austin. Committee members are not reimbursed by TCFP for any travel expenses. Committee members will be actively involved in intense review and development of fire fighter training issues. Meetings typically last two to three days.

Applicants must hold, as a minimum, an Instructor II certification from the commission. Active participation in training programs is preferred.

Please submit a completed membership application by Friday, June 16, 2017. Applications can be mailed, e-mailed or faxed to Grace Wilson, Texas Commission on Fire Protection, PO Box 2286, Austin, TX 78768-2286; Fax: 512-936-3808; e-mail:

The committee will review applications at its next scheduled meeting on June 27-28, 2017. After this meeting, all applicants will receive notice (either via e-mail or postal mail) as to whether they were selected to be on the committee. There is only one vacancy on the committee. It may take two to three weeks for all applicants to be notified.

The agency is encountering challenges following the launch of FIDO system earlier this month, with most of the problems occurring in the department and training facility management modules.