Skip to main content

A-list and B-list courses

To earn intermediate, advanced and master certifications in fire protection, certificate holders must meet specific time and training requirements. Certain combinations of the A-List and B-List courses listed below can help fire protection personnel meet the training requirements. For information on specific requirements for higher levels of certification in each discipline, please refer to the appropriate sections of the Standards Manual for Fire Protection Personnel.

To confirm that you have met the education requirements for a higher level of certification, you must submit documentation of the training. Training documentation that the commission will accept includes: a) a valid commission test on file, or b) a copy of the applicable IFSAC seals for TCFP courses included in the A or B list. For non-TCFP courses, the commission will accept a certificate of course completion.

Please note that the training in the components leading to a basic certification such as Basic Fire Fighter or Basic Inspector (i.e., Fire Fighter I or II, HazMat Awareness or Operations, Inspector I, II or Plans Examiner) cannot be counted toward higher levels in the same certification. See Chapter 423 or Chapter 429 of the Standards Manual for more information.

If you have additional questions, please contact the commission's certification section at (512) 936-3825.

A-List Courses (PDF) [updated October 26, 2018].
B-List Courses (PDF) [updated October 26, 2018].

Certification and professional development

Certification and professional development

A brief introduction to the commission's certification and professional development program.

Certification requirements

The commission offers 40 certifications or certification "levels" (i.e., basic, intermediate, advanced, etc.). This chart provides links to the requirements for each certification and each level.

Certification verification

A form to verify a certified individual's certification status.

Basic fire suppression

Overview of the requirements to become certified as an entry-level fire fighter in the State of Texas.

CE - required hours

How to determine how many hours of continuing education are required to renew.

Individual renewals

Information and FAQs for individual certificate holders. (Individual certificate holders are those who are not affiliated with a regulated department.)

Transferring to Texas

Guidelines for transferring out-of-state or military fire protection certifications to Texas.

A-list and B-list courses

A-list and B-list courses for higher levels of certification.

CE sources

Sources of continuing education.

Courage to Be Safe resources

Resources and links to more information about the Courage to Be Safe program.

Traffic safety course resources

Resources and links to more information about the required traffic safety program.