fire fighter image

Advantages of an IFSAC Seals

ifsac seals logo

Proof of training to the level stated on the seal if you move to a new state.

ifsac seals logo

Fire fighters who come to Texas from another IFSAC jurisdiction can use seals they have obtained as proof of training.

ifsac seals logo

Some are requiring their employees to hold IFSAC seals in various disciplines, particularly those organizations contracting to provide services at federal facilities.

Register an IFSAC Seal

To add an IFSAC seal earned through another accredited entity to your FIDO account for certification eligibility or as a prerequisite to another IFSAC seal, you must first be logged into FIDO. From the main menu, select Submissions and then the Register IFSAC Seal button to upload a copy of your seal.

If uploading multiple seals, you must submit one at a time for review and approval. The issuance date and seal number must be clearly visible on each IFSAC seal.

Disciplines in which IFSAC seals may be acquired (optional)

fire fighter
  • Fire Fighter I
  • Fire Fighter II
  • Hazardous Materials Awareness
  • Hazardous Materials Operations
  • Hazardous Materials Technician
  • Hazardous Materials Incident Commander
  • Aircraft Rescue Fire Fighter
  • Driver/Operator – Pumper
  • Driver/Operator – Aerial
  • Fire Instructor I
  • Fire Instructor II
  • Fire Instructor III
  • Fire Inspector I
  • Fire Inspector II
  • Plans Examiner I
  • Fire Officer I
  • Fire Officer II
  • Fire Officer III
  • Fire Officer IV
  • Fire Investigator
  • Incident Safety Officer
  • Fire and Life Safety Educator I
  • Fire and Life Safety Educator II


When one or more of an entity's certification testing programs are accredited by IFSAC, it means that IFSAC has reviewed the processes and has verified that the program or programs meet a nationally recognized standard.

When determining if an organization's testing program is eligible for accreditation, IFSAC reviews:

  • The laws empowering the organization to administer the state's certification program
  • The organization's policies relating to the certification testing programs
  • Administrative aspects, such as schedules and test announces
  • The content of both written and practical exams
  • Questions on the written exam regarding validity and reliability
  • Skills on the practical exams
Fire fighters putting water out

The Commission's Relationship with IFSAC

The accredited entity in the State of Texas is the Texas Commission on Fire Protection. IFSAC has reviewed and accredited many of the commission's certification testing programs. The commission earned Fire Fighter I and Fire Fighter II accreditation for its basic structure fire protection program on May 3, 1997. Additional programs have been added since then, with a total of 23 seals being offered as of May 2018. IFSAC re-examines accredited programs every five years. An IFSAC site team visited and assessed the commission in 2014, with all of the commission's programs receiving high marks and being approved for another five years.